top of page

You are here: WGAMI Home  > History


The first Indianapolis amateur women’s city championship was held at Riverside, South Grove and Coffin golf clubs. Those desiring to enter the competition had to mail their three best scores to Mrs. C.A. Tucker so a handicap could be figured. The tournament was a 54-hole stroke play event. The 17 players who entered were divided into two flights. Prizes were given for low gross & low net total scores and also for leaders on each course. Mrs. Ben C Stevenson (Earla), of Highland, won in 1921. 

In 1922, 112 women entered the city amateur so it was suggested by the South Grove golf professional that an Indianapolis Women’s Golf Association be formed.  An organization meeting was held at the South Grove Clubhouse on the afternoon of Tuesday, September 19th just before the tournament started.  Miss Bertha Wacker, of South Grove, was elected president for the coming year.  The Indianapolis News donated a city champion trophy.

WGAMI 1921 First Tournament.jpg
WGAMI 1921 First Champion.jpg
WGAMI 1922 trophy.jpg
100 Years Slides
bottom of page